The Triple Filter Test

In ancient Greece, Socrates was reputed to hold knowledge in
high esteem. One day an acquaintance met the great philosopher
and said, “Do you know what I just heard about your friend?”

“Hold on a minute,” Socrates replied. “Before telling me
anything, I’d like you to pass a little test. It’s called the
Triple Filter Test.”

“Triple filter?”

“That’s right,” Socrates continued. “Before you talk to me about
my friend, it might be a good idea to take a moment and filter what
you’re going to say. That’s why I call it the triple filter test.
The first filter is Truth. Have you made absolutely sure that what
you are about to tell me is true?”

“No,” the man said, “Actually I just heard about it and…”

“All right,” said Socrates. “So you don’t really know if it’s
true or not. Now let’s try the second filter, the filter of
goodness. Is what you are about to tell me about my friend
something good?”

“No, on the contrary…”

“So,” Socrates continued, “You want to tell me something bad
about him, but you’re not certain it’s true. You may still pass
the test though, because there’s one filter left: the filter of
usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my friend going to
be useful to me?”

“No, not really.”

“Well,” concluded Socrates, “If what you want to tell me is
neither true nor good nor even useful, why tell it to me at all?”

Ponder over this! I believe strongly that what comes out of our mouths speak volumes. We should endeavor to be positive all the time.

Spreading rumors or saying bad things about a person doesn’t do you any good.

If you are looking down on a person, it should be that you are picking them up. That’s the only way up. If you want to be up, help lift another.

Posted on June 12, 2011, in What's new and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. you are actually doing the job! keep at it

  2. Thanks a lot, ADB. You are an inspiration!

  1. Pingback: The Triple Filter Test » Greece on WEB

Leave a Reply

