Why the iPad, Internet and TV help ruin creativity!

 

Boredom is good for creativity. Yes, you read that right! I advocate boredom in your life to help improve your creative potential. Oh yeah, I am not kidding at all because that works for me. I hardly sit down when I am bored. I am always on the move when boredom knocks at my door.

For most of us, being busy is a sign that we are achieving something in life or that we are progressing. We constantly keep ourselves busy doing something. It could be working hard at the office, shopping or other household chores, organizing something, looking after the family or even ‘researching on the internet.’

We keep our brains so active all the time that we do not allow ourselves the time to relax, the time to allow our brains to make connections between all the different stimuli we have given it.

When we have some spare time, we switch on the TV. We feel slightly empty and we check our social networking sites or the Internet in general. We feel lonely and we pick up the phone. The BBM craze in Ghana….oh no Africa….speaks volumes!

There is nothing wrong with the above but modern technology has made things go beyond the limit.

Mobile phones make it easy to connect and be connected with people within an instant. No longer do you only make phone calls when you were back home but we decide to make them anywhere and everywhere. Our precious quiet time, GONE.

The portable and cheaper home computers make it easy for us to pass away time browsing aimlessly on the Internet, where perhaps we would have used that time to simply relax and enjoy our surroundings.  Ok, you need to travel to a remote area if you want to observe the greenery of nature in Ghana. We even could have used that time to practice a hobby but for the most part, that time is GONE.

This is made even worse with the advent of the iPad. A portable lightweight laptop which makes watching videos effortlessly easy. Now even the quiet time we had before sleeping is lost to watching movies and endless YouTube video clips. I could also talk about the addiction behavior of twitter and facebook.

But, all is not lost. The first step in any improvement is to become aware of what is actually happening and the second step is to take positive action to rectify the situation.

So to aid creativity, BRING THE BOREDOM BACK:

  • It’s ok to be bored from time to time. It allows us to reflect on events and that is where we learn and create.
  • Limit your time spent watching TV and using the Internet.
  • Take up old/new hobbies.
  • Decide not to use your mobile phone, not even to answer a call for one complete journey and observe the world around you with an open mind. Life is too short so enjoy it sometimes.
  • Learn to enjoy the moment when your mind can completely rest.

Boredom is good for your creativity. Accept it, embrace it and encourage it. Your creative mind will thank you. You can leave a comment so that we keep on discussing. Life will lose its tune without creativity!

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Lifestyle, Science & Technology, What's new and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You’re far too absolute to be reasonable. I have anecdotes of creativity that are simply impossible without technology. Here’s one:

    My girlfriend and I went through a phase where we wrote each other silly/loving/quirky haikus via text message, email, and Google chat. Thanks to technology, all of these golden bits of creativity were saved online, and searchable so that I could catalog every haiku, and compile them into a book.

    I then proceeded to spend hours designing the cover for the book, deciding upon paper type, book dimensions, and the presentation of the haikus on page. I published it with an online on-demand book publishing company, and sent my lovely girl a copy in the mail for a great surprise.

    Now, I’ve never written a book before, nor am I a poet. The only possible way this bit of creativity could be sustained is through the ubiquitous communication channels I had with my girlfriend: any time I was uninterested during a lecture or saw something in a shop that reminded me of her, I could scrawl a silly haiku about gorillas and shoot it her way, wait a few minutes for her response, and create a truly precious haiku dialogue.

    And let’s not forget how hard it is to publish a book the old fashioned way… yet now I feel like an expert on typography and details about book creation that I would have never learned otherwise.

    Being connected _stimulated_ my creativity, it didn’t hinder it! Sure you can waste your creativity with technology just like you can waste it throwing a ball against a dumpster for an hour. That doesn’t make the latter some sort of sacred technology-free wistful meditation. The only way to stimulate creativity is to actively seek out creative ventures. Nobody said those ventures can’t be on the internet or an iPad.

    • That’s simply awesome. I am not trying to say that technology is bad. I used technology to come up with this post but you will agree with me that the majority of people ruin their creative talents by sticking so much unto it. I am so happy that you are one of the exception to the rule. One of the few who are powered by technology to bring it the best in them. Big ups bro!

  2. u killing it Gee

  3. This post speaks volumes Nana! Volumes! I speak from sheer experiment…I’ve had to struggle with this too many times…I didn’t have too many gadgets at one point in the past and I can positively say my creativity was at its peak.Nowadays,with my many gadgets and technological distractions,I just escape by hiding everything somewhere I can stay away from.
    Once again,your post is on point!

    • Thanks man for sharing your experience with us. It happens all the time. Instead of writing or reading, the internet calls. Hahahahaha

Leave a Reply

